Day Nine

I have learnt this from Gretchen Rubin, and her book The Happiness Project. As part of her section called Secrets of Adulthood, she mentions that “What may be fun for you doesn’t mean it’s fun for others.” I have always thought about that, but I haven’t actually considered it. As bad as that may sound.

Like today, I wanted to watch the football playoffs, but my boyfriend didn’t really seem that interested in them. I kept on asking him about him throughout the day. I could have just watched the games on my laptop, I had no issue, but he wanted to just lay there on his phone all day. He didn’t really have an interest for all of the games.

Sometimes this may be challenging to accept that there might be other people who disagree with you and what you do for fun. But this is okay. This sort of shapes you in who you are as a person. The world might be a bit boring if everyone liked the same things, and disliked the same things as well.

Today, I will understand that the things I enjoy may not be for other people. And what’s fun for them, may not be fun for me either.

2 thoughts on “Day Nine

Leave a comment